27. Alex

picmonkey-sample1

On the second photo, they are looking to each other’s eyes and holding a glass of champagne and behind them is ‘Happy New Year 2001’ banner. Mom’s wearing this cute brown mini dress and they both look so in love. I just wish I know them back then. I’ve never seen Alex looking at Mom the way my father looks at her and Mom looking at Alex like that.

I don’t even know how I fell asleep on Saturday. I was studying and studying and suddenly someone woke me up at 7:30 PM sitting by my desk. It was Alex who just came from the hospital. Summer was watching Frozen in the living room, so we talked a little bit.

‘So, how are your finals going so far?’ he asked.

‘Okay, I guess.’

‘Good. You need any help?’

‘I think I’m good, thanks.’

‘Okay.’

‘So, how’s Mom?’

‘Same.’

‘Is it good?’

‘Think so.’

‘I think it is.’

‘Yeah. Could be worse. I mean, yeah. It’s good she’s still in the same condition. Of course it’s be great if she’s better, but it’s good as it is.’

‘Yeah.’

‘Yeah.’

‘…’

‘What do you want for dinner?’

‘Sandwich?’

‘Tuna sandwich?’

‘I’m a vegetarian.’

‘I know. Sorry. So… Tomato sandwich?’

‘Okay.’

‘Okay.’

And he left. This is probably the longest we’ve ever talk to each other.

It was Saturday. Now it’s Monday 4AM and I’m wide awake. What if I don’t pass finals? I mean, it’s not a big deal considering ‘my condition’ and I can probably take them again and again until I pass, but still. Lisa’s just texting me.

Can’t sleep. What if I don’t pass? My parents will kill me.

Same text as every morning before finals. Of course she’s going to pass. She always does 100% on every single test. I usually do around 97% what is also great. Once, I did 70% because I was so sure about myself I didn’t even look at any school book. Alex was furious, but Mom was laughing so hard she fell on the floor. She said she can’t believe I did 70% without any studying. I miss her.

Of course you will.

P.S.: I uploaded a new video on my youtube channel instead Wednesday’s post, here’s the link:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lhFP5DzyRpQ&t=5s 

Leave a Reply

