20. Park

โ€˜No!โ€™ So I marched to the street and slammed the door behind me. Honestly I have no idea where to go, when all the people I know are outside the town.

So I ended up in a park. I love our park, I used to come here everyday with Mom when I was little. Sometimes I take Summer over here, but she doesn’t like all the kids playing around. I’m sitting on a bench where me and Thomas used to sit a few times before we broke up. I guess I love this park little less for this. I mean, it’s not park’s fault, obviously. I don’t know. I don’t know anything anymore. I don’t know who I am. I don’t know my Mom. I don’t know my father. Maybe I do know him now. Do I know him? I don’t know. I spoke to him. But did we really speak? I don’t know. Oh gosh, what should I do? I’m thinking about all of this bullshit when some male’s voice wake me up from my thoughts.

‘Hey! Come here!’ Okay, it’s night, I’m all alone in the park and my heart starts beating little bit faster than usual.

‘Come here, I’m telling you!’ The voice is closer now. My heart’s faster.

‘Right now! Don’t you dare ignoring me!’ Okay, I’m like really really scared right now. What if it’s some psychopath who’s going to kill me? Should I run? Or scream?

‘Come here! Now!’ Maybe I should run and scream, but I don’t know which way to go. Okay, on three… One… Two…

‘Aaaaaaaaaaah!’ I scream because something big jumps next to me on the bench and I can feel the tears coming down my face. I’m so scared I can’t even run.

‘Oh God, are you okay? I’m so sorry, but my dog’s just… He’s got his own head sometimes,’ and when I look next to me I can see big smiling golden retriever wagging his tail like crazy.

‘Come here, Hero, are you stupid? Look what you did!’ And the dog jumps down and sits next to his owner.

‘I’m really sorry, again. We didn’t mean to scare you.’

‘It… It’s okay,’ I manage to say somehow and now that I can actually see because I’m not crying anymore, the dog’s owner is a boy around my age. Embarrassing? Just like hell.

‘I’m Matthew, by the way. And this stupid dog is Hero. He’s terribly sorry, aren’t you?’ He asks his dog. ‘Well, you should be. You scared her!’

‘It’s alright. To be honest, you scared me more.’

‘Me?’

‘Yes. When you yelled to come over and stop ignoring you,’ oh no, I’m starting laughing now.

‘I’m so sorry, I wasn’t expecting anyone to be here and I could’t see you on the bench, to be honest.’

‘I didn’t expect anyone being here either,’ and I’m legit laughing so hard now I can’t even breathe. And I’m snorting. He’s gonna think I’m a total lunatic! What’s his name? Matthew?

‘I’m glad you’re laughing now,’ he says and smiles gently.

‘Me too. I guess. Oh, I’m Izzy. Sorry I forgot to introduce myself.’ E.M.B.A.R.R.A.S.S.I.N.G.

‘Nice meeting you, Izzy. It’s none of my business, but are you here all alone? Okay, that sounds creepy. I was just wondering because there’s no one else and a pretty young girl like you being alone in a park… Okay, that sounds even more creepy. You know what? Nevermind. We should probably get going, right, Hero? Granny’s gonna be mad because we’re late and she’s waiting for us with dinner.’

‘Of course. I should go home too,’ but I don’t want to. I don’t wanna face Mom. I should apologise to her, but I’m not sure what for.

‘I know it’s gonna sound creepy again, but which way are you going?’

‘Down to the church and then to the station. You?’

‘Us too! Do you mind coming together?’

‘Not at all.’

And then I pet Hero and he’s so happy I touched him not only his tail is fawning, but his whole body’s dancing.

‘He’s so cute.’

‘Oh don’t be fooled. He’s such a pain in the ass. But you know, you gotta love the dog no matter how much of a pain in the ass he is.’

Leave a Reply

