10. Phone call

‘Hello?’
‘Lisa? Something really weird happened today.’

‘We saw each other literally fifteen minutes ago.’
‘Well, something happened during those fifteen minutes. Can you come over, please?’
‘Okay.’
Me and Lisa are now sitting on my bed. Well, she is.
‘Will you tell me what happened or you’re gonna stare into the hallway?’
‘Shhh! Okay, I tell you,’ I come over and sit beside her. ‘Our phone rang today.’
‘Oh. That’s weird.’
‘I know, I know, right?’
‘I don’t know. I really have no idea what’s wrong with your phone ringing. I was trying to tell you what you want to hear.’
‘No one calls our home phone. Except my Mom’s mother and she only calls on Christmas because she hates us but apparently you’re not a good Christian when you don’t call your family on Christmas. The thing is, it wasn’t my Mom’s mother who called.’
‘Can’t you call her grandma?’
‘No, she is not my grandma. My grandma wouldn’t send me birthday card randomly once a year because she has no idea when my birthday is. And she wouldn’t write ‘Happy birthday, Ms Burton’ on it.’
‘Fair enough.’
‘So, this phone was ringing and I was the only one at home, so I picked up. And then some male voice asked for my Mom.’
‘Do you think she’s seeing someone?’
‘I don’t think so. But when I told him I’m her daughter and that he can leave a message, he hang up.’
‘Weird.’
‘Yeah. Weird.’
Leave a Reply

